Fisherman’s Wharf

Located on the banks of the River Lauch, this historic port has been a hub of commercial activity since at least 1226 when it was first mentioned in records as ‘Port de Pecheurs’ (Fishermen’s Port).

Today, Fisherman’s Wharf is one of Colmar’s most popular attractions and offers visitors an insight into its rich maritime history. The wharf itself consists of two quays stretching along 700 meters, lined with colourful houses and quaint shops selling local products such as wine, cheese, and sausages. There are also several restaurants serving traditional French cuisine with stunning views over the river.

The focal point of Fisherman’s Wharf is undoubtedly its Grand Quai – a beautiful promenade that runs between both quays and features traditional half-timbered buildings from different eras throughout history. At one end stands an impressive Gothic church dating back to 1514 while at the other you can find La Maison des Tanneurs – an old leather tannery which now serves as a museum dedicated to Colmar’s tanning industry.

In addition to these historical landmarks, there are plenty more activities for visitors to enjoy, including boat trips down the river or fishing excursions out onto Lake Fecht where anglers can try their luck catching trout or pike perch. For those looking for something less strenuous, there are also guided tours around Fisherman’s Wharf that provide interesting facts about its past inhabitants and how they shaped life here today.

Fisherman’s Wharf ist Teil unserer Sightseeing-Tour!

Entdecken Sie diese und viele weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten bei unserer einzigartigen Mischung aus Stadtführung und Schnitzeljagd.